December 2006

I’ll be home for Christmas

Christmas is almost over but still it’s December 25th.  I guess, I’m not yet late for the Christmas celebration.  What do you think so? After a week and few days of hibernation, finally I am going out of my hiding place and will mee the world.  I hate the smell and the noise of the city but I have to see my family and give them my gifts.  Then tomorrow, we will go to my grandparents’ place at Dapdap, Dolores Eastern Samar to join them for the New Year celebration.  This will be a great homecoming for me! After a lot of years, I will be my dear family again. I am really excited because this is my first time to travel with my family again!

So, my dear Friendster and online family, I got to say bye, bye and God bless you more! I’ll be off for a week to chat with my family and friends, go swimming and fishing, learn how to cook some dishes, and a whole lot more of activities.  Don’t worry, I’ll be back soon.

God bless you! HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

Miss Sneaky Squeaky is now signing off.  Hehe.

Posted on on December 25th, 2006

Alone on Christmas?

My parents’ house is just two hours jeepney-bus/van ride away from where I am staying at right now.  I don’t know what has gotten into my little brain that I decided to stay here in this apartment that I did not join my family this Christmas eve.  I guess it’s the perfect peace and solitude this campus offer that I enjoy a lot.  I don’t get to see a lot of people because most of the students and even faculty members are on a vacation.  It’s always my face I see in front of the mirror and the people on the net that I get to talk to.  I have been here since the start of the vacation updating my profile in different websites I am in, marking papers, recording them, doing household chores and eating a lot.  Oh! One thing more…sleeping and watching movies.

Just this Saturday evening, I found myself rushing to the mall.  When I got there, guess what? Sure enough the mall was full of people.  There was a long line of people everywhere–checking stuffs, comparing prices, paying bills and everything.   Early this month I decided to be a Santa Claus.  I wanted to give each member of the family a gift.  So, I reserved my money for them and not for myself.  I had a hard time thinking of what to give to each and everyone in the family.  I went to the Men’s Wear Section and checked of what nice to give.  Honestly, I am not an expert on men’s apparel that’s why I really had a hard time.  There are a lot of things to consider in buying clothes for the dear men in our lives–the color of their skin, the size of the body, the color of the shirt, the texture and everything.  Finally, after a long search I got to this certian clothing line which caught my attention.  I love the style of the clothes so I got what I needed.  After paying at the counter, I headed towards Women’s Section.  This is more difficult because I don’t know exactly their clothes preference.  I thought of buying footwears for them but I did not know their sizes so I hurriedly look for the store with a white and red motif.  Guess what? Yes, the National Bookstore! It was past 9pm when I get there so I went straight to the Inspirational books corner.  I, myself, love books a lot! My family loves books too so I got them beautiful books like Women in the Bible, Moments for Mothers, and ______ (ohh! I’m sorry I forgot the title). It’s a book that contains hundreds of stories for preachers, teachers and other public speakers.  As I was about to pay those books at the cashier, my eyes caught a book with a brown and lavender cover. Guess what? It’s a book entitled I KISSED DATING GOODBYE! I wanted to buy the book but I got to buy first MEN ARE FROM MARS WOMEN ARE FROM VENUS….

(to be continued)  SLEEEPPPY!

GOD BLESS AND MERRY CHRISTMAS

Posted on on December 24th, 2006

TEN OUCHIES

One bright morning of November, a friend sent me a message saying:
“TEN OUCHIES:

  1. Letting go of the person you’ve learned to love.
  2. Shielding your heart to love somebody.
  3. Trying to hide what you really feel.
  4. Loving a person too much.
  5. Taking the risk to fall in love again.
  6. Thinking of him/her every waking and sleeping moment but you knew that he or she never even thinks a single thought of you.
  7. Letting go every time you see the person, you only fall deeper.
  8. Falling in love with someone you did not mean to fall in love with.
  9. Pretending your ok when inside you’re dying.
  10. Lying in bed each night thinking of that special one you cannot have.”

Wow! What a text message! Until now, I still can’t understand why she sent me this message.  Perhaps she sent the same message to all names registered in her phonebook and perhaps she did not know that it made an impact on me too! Guess what number hurts me more? Oooppps! It’s a secret!

Yesterday I was feeling bad–totally bad but after I said an intimate prayer with my God last night I am blessed to wake up this morning with a beautiful smile on my face and a positive outlook in relationships.  Hehe.

God bless everyone and have a nice day!

Posted on on December 20th, 2006

Obedient unto death by John Fischer

Three gifts the wise men brought. The idea that there were three of them comes from the gifts, not the number of kings. They brought gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh. Of these gifts, two were fit for royalty, but the third was a bitter omen. In Jesus’ day, bodies were wrapped in myrrh for burial. Myrrh’s pungent odor neutralized the smell of decomposing flesh. Thus, even the gifts that were brought to the Christ child announced his ultimate purpose. This was not some cruel joke; the wise men understood why this king had come.

Death is usually the furthest thing from anyone’s mind upon a baby’s birth. Someone who would even bring up the subject would be thought of as unkind, insensitive, and unfit to join in the celebration. And yet these wise men had traveled long and far to see this child and bestow these gifts upon him. These gifts were not randomly chosen. They knew this was to be no ordinary life and no ordinary death.

This life embraced its bleak destiny from the beginning. Christ came to serve, but his death was the ultimate act of service. The Scripture says the he became “obedient unto death, even death on a cross.” (Philippians 2:8) That word “obedient” implies servitude. It is expected that servants will be obedient; otherwise you would never hire them. Jesus was sent by his Father to die for the sins of the world, and he went willingly.

Suddenly, the difficult thing God is asking you to be obedient to is a small thing compared to Christ’s assignment. Christ took it all the way to the cross, and sweat drops of blood over it in the garden the night before as he fought with himself over his obedience. He knew this was required of him; he just didn’t know how hard it was going to be until he got there and faced it head-on.

With all of this ahead for the little Christ child, it makes you realize how wise these wise men really were. A lot wiser than we give them credit for. They knew enough to strike out on this mysterious journey that most likely took a number of years to complete. They knew enough to know that the child would be a king. But they also knew that it would be in the stone-cold grip of the grave that this child’s greatest work would be accomplished.

Thank goodness he stayed obedient to the end. Our lives would have been hopeless otherwise.

God, what are you asking of me, today?

Posted on on December 20th, 2006

Someone’s Waiting to Love You

Be brave little one
Make a wish for each sad little tear
Hold your head up though no one is near
Someone’s waiting for you

Don’t cry little one
There’ll be a smile where a frown used to be
You’ll be part of a love that you see
Someone’s waiting for you

Refrain:
Always keep a little pray’r in your pocket
And you’re sure to see the light
Soon, there’ll be joy and happiness
And your little world will be bright
Have faith little one
‘Til your hopes and your wishes come true
You must try to be brave little one
Someone’s waiting to love you

Always keep a little pray’r in your pocket
And you’re sure to see the light
Soon, there’ll be joy and happiness
And your little world will be bright
Have faith little one
‘Til your hopes and your wishes come true
You must try to be brave little one
Someone’s waiting to love you.

*I guess this song sums up what Buzzy keeps on reminding me about.  Hehe.  Hope you’ll like it too!

Posted on on December 19th, 2006

What do I want for Christmas?

A night before my housemates left for a holiday vacation we had a kris kringle (tama ba spelling ko?)  One of them suggested that we should have a wish list.  “Ohhh! A wish list,” I told myself.  Everyone was excited to write down what they wanted for our exchange gifts.  Someone wrote she wanted a bookset of Anne of Gables or a DVD set of Gilmore Girls, or a book entitled Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus, or a pair of light blue curtains, or a sexy langerie, or a see-through bolero and a lot more.  Then they asked me to write what I wanted.   I got a pen but there was nothing to write.  I paused for a while and went back to my room.  I thought and thought and thought.  Still, I did not know what I wanted for Christmas.  With nothing in mind, I grabbed a pen and wrote B-O-Y-F-R-I-E-N-D! Yap, a boyfriend.  One of the ladies commented saying, “Shie, hirap naman nyan!” Hahaha.  I don’t need anything at the moment and that is what I wanted for Christmas.  I haven’t shared a Christmas with a boyfriend or someone I hold dearest to my heart except for family and friends.  Well, they can’t buy a boyfriend for me esp. that costs P150.00, so I have to write something else.  I love books a lot.  So, I thought it would be best if another book will be added to my collections.  I had Anna Karennina, Persuasion, The Love Story of Elizabeth and Robert Browning written down on my wish list.  Then, I went back to my room where I continued chatting with my friend Buzzy.  While I was busy online, I heard my friends laughing outside and they asked me to go out.  Guess what I’ve seen under my wish list? My dear friend Merbs wrote Dan or A Trip to Australia! Hahaha.  She’s really naughty!(in positive ways) What a joke! “That must be very expensive,” I told them.  And I saw also A Trip to Illinois under my best buddy’s name. Hahaha.  “These ladies out here are making fun of us,” I told one of my housemates.   Well, we just laughed and laughed.  May be Santa Claus will see our wish list and will put a visa and ticket for places we want to visit on our stockings! Hehehe.  (Just kidding!)  Anyways, I’ll be very grateful to whatever gift I will receive this Christmas esp. from my dear housemate.  I just hope that I will be able to give what ______ wanted for Christmas too! (Dami kasi nakalista kaya di ko pa rin alam what to buy for her.) Just wait and see…

BUT WHAT DO I REALLY WANT FOR CHRISTMAS? As I was opening my yahoo mailbox, I received a card about Christmas.  Guess what was stated there? JESUS is the gift that perfectly fits the size of every heart.  May the Lord bless you with the gift of his perfect peace this Christmas and a sense of His presence in your heart everyday. Wishing you a Merry Christmas! Wow! That was really beautiful.  Got an idea what I want for Christmas? YES, it is PERFECT PEACE and GOD’S PRESENCE IN MY LIFE.  That’s all. WHAT ELSE CAN I ASK FOR?

HAPPY HOLIDAYS everyone!

GOD BLESS!

Posted on on December 19th, 2006

Moving On

MOVING ON… After all the happiness, sweet moments, gifts, pains and heartaches shared now you came to realize that this should relationship should be given a full halt.  After the sorrowful break-up, moving on starts.  What makes moving on difficult? I guess it’s the thought that “someday you’ll be back in each other’s arms”, that “you just both need time and space”, that “you are just evaluating what you have been  doing in the past but eventually will reconcile”.   We tend to treasure a lot of that and that in our lives that makes it hard for us to realize that the relationship is OVER, OVER, and OVER.  And that is already time for us to think about ourselves and not for the other party anymore.

Honestly, this phrase “moving on” has been in my vocabulary since 2003 and yet until now I am still saying that I am “moving on”.  I am exhausted of this stage in my life.  I should be done with moving on and instead would say “I have moved on”.  For the past three months of this year I have been contemplating about my life.  I am getting older.  It’s time for me to be serious in any relationship that I will enter.  And with all the retrospection I had, I am thankful to the Lord that now I can say I have moved on.  Although there are still issues that I am battling up right now.  But still I am thankful that I know what and how I feel right now.  My heart said this and that and my mind approved it.  No further argument.

I am just sad that sometimes I had been harsh, rude and mean to someone who had cared and loved me.  I can still vividly remember how he’d sang “I did my best but I guess my best wasn’t good enough”.  My tears would suddenly fall at the thought of that song.  My sincerest apologies for him.  We may had a lot of arguments but still I treasure ALL the memories I had with him.  They’ll be forever in my brain.  He has been perfectly good to me and I know he’ll make a good boyfriend or husband to that special someone the Lord prepared for him.  I wish him all the best in life! Until now, I still care for him as a friend.  You would not believe–he has proposed if we can be bestfriends.  And I said yes to that! Hope we’ll be best of friends.

At this point, I am so happy that I know what I want in my life.  I have all my plans laid before the Lord and I pray that “His will be done and not mine”.  For I believe He still wants what is best for me and for everyone out there.  We just have to be closer and closer to Him so we’ll be able to comprehend what He has for us.

Another year is about to end and let me say that this year had been a colorful one to me–a lot of ups and downs.  Nevertheless, I have learned so much from all the experiences I got.  They made me trust God more and more.

*I will just be obedient to follow His will for me.

Posted on on December 19th, 2006

Leave a Reply

