Might Be Going Home Soon

I will miss you…

Coming here to Korea is one of the most wonderful blessings God has given me.   I’ve been to different places around the country.  I’ve experienced their four seasons.  I’ve tasted their food.  I’ve admired the nature and infrastructures around them.  I’ve learned a few expressions of their language.  I’ve played and sang of their hymns.  I’ve seen the way Koreans live.  I’ve mingled with them.  I taught some of them.  Most of all, I’ve been like a family to them.

My heart beats fast upon the thought of me going home sooner than expected.  I’ve learned to love the country, its people and everything.  It’s not that I don’t want to go home.  Of course, I want to see my family, friends and my country.  But I think my service here is not yet done.  I still want to see my students grow taller, bigger, prettier and smarter than the first time I saw them.  I still want to teach them, laugh with them and even cry with them.  The way they rely on me for learning and support makes me feel important and loved.  They may be naughty sometimes, but I still love them.  They are just little children.  It’s their nature to get one’s attention even if at some points they become annoying.  Oh how I love their smiles, their inquisitive eyes, their soft and even loud greetings, and most of all when they call my name..”Teacher Shiela“.

Yes, I might be going home soon.  This week might be last week.  I might not be able to have a party with the students anymore on the end of the term.  I might not be able to see Susie and Unnie who are in the US right now.  I might not be able to see my best friend Grace who’s back to school.  I don’t know.  I don’t know.  I don’t want to go.  I have goosebumps all over my body.  I’ve been thinking about this since the last conversation I had with Teacher Glori.  I’ve been sitting on this chair since I arrived from school.  I had dinner on this chair.  And oooopppss..my Lucas is hungry.  That is for sure.  Ohh! Wait..

I don’t want to move because I want to feel everything.  I don’t want time to fly.  I know tomorrow will be the 29th then the 30th then the 31st.  I don’t know what to do.  Should I pack my things now or wait for the final word? Well, it is indeed my prayer that the Lord will bless me with one more year stay here in Korea.:-)

***

Posted on May 28th, 2008

Leave a Reply

