Thoughts on The Scarlet Letter

Who are we to make people feel guilty of their sins over and over? Who are we to make them suffer more than they have already suffered? Is there any one righteous among us? Revisiting the novel, “The Scarlet Letter” is making me react emotionally again.:-) When I first read this, I think I was still in my teens and I reacted so naively.  I disliked almost all the characters in this novel.  I disliked Roger Chillingworth for not following through his plans with Hester Prynne to move to America.  I believe that married couples should live together despite of everything.  I certainly don’t want to be away from my husband when I get married.:-) I disliked Arthur Dimmesdale for being a big coward. He should’ve practiced what he preached.  This does not only apply to pastors, ministers, priests, but also to teachers, parents, and everyone.  What’s the point of saying something that you cannot actually do? As a teacher, it is my utmost desire to continually reflect God’s character not only to my students but also to everyone I come in contact with daily.  It is very essential that I set a good example especially to my students.  What will happen if I don’t? Of course they won’t respect me and I don’t want that to happen.  I know we have our owns strengths and weaknesses but the Bible tells us that “But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me” 2 Corinthians 12:9. Not too sound condescending, I think Hester should’ve controlled herself.  She’s a married woman.  Even if Roger Chillingworth was a thousand miles away from her, it didn’t change the fact that she was married. When one is married he or she is in a “till death do us part” commitment and Matthew 19:6 says, “Therefore they are no more two, but one flesh. What therefore God has joined together, let not man put asunder. This novel is reminding us the importance of marriage.  I can see that most of the married couples are getting divorced or separated while others are having their marriages annulled but in these last days I hope and pray that married couples will stick together “in sickness and in health”.  God instituted marriage in the garden of Eden and therefore it is holy.  It is one of His best gifts to men.  Why waste it? Some people are blessed enough to have met the people that God intended for them while others are still patiently waiting.  So, please…

Anyway, I may have double thoughts on asking my students to read The Scarlet Letter but after writing this blog I am fully convinced that I made the right decision to let them read it.  There are so many things we can talk about and so many significant values that we can draw upon from this novel.  As an SDA teacher, I’d like to say that I am truly blessed that God inspired me to look at the brighter side of this novel.  People of this generation, according to Ellen G. White let us not be afraid to “call sin by its right name”. We may condemn sin but not the sinner.  Let us be forgiving just like our Heavenly Father.

I pray that my discussion with the students tomorrow about this novel will be successful. May God help me continually.

Well, mornight again children of God!

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on The Scarlet Letter

Leave a Reply

