Daily Prompt: Changes

You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally?

According to my late grandfather that I am sure he heard it somewhere too, “There is nothing permanent in this world except change.” It took me a long while to understand it.  

I’m a bit of strong-willed and stubborn person and there are times that I am not open to change. Change can sometimes be good but sometimes it’s bad.  It all depends on what type of change we want.  When I was still a student, I was involved in most of school activities.  I was an officer here, officer there.  There were even days and nights that all I did was attend meetings here and there.  I enjoyed being a secretary when I was in freshmen (high school and college) but as I moved to a higher year, I began to despise it.  Who likes keeping record of minutes? Not me! Other people get to chitchat while the meeting is going on and the secretary has to concentrate on every single detail to make sure that everything is recorded. There were days that some stuff will be changed.  It’s like we already agreed to do this and then suddenly everything will be changed. Ha! Not cool!

Anyway, I have a minute left to write. 🙂

Change. Change for the better is good.  I am a work in progress.  I am trying to be the best person that I can be.  Everyday, I bow my knees and beg for God to help me a better person, to help me make wise decisions, to help me be more patient and considerate of other people.  I am not perfect.  I am very far from being perfect.  Therefore, in constant supplication I always ask God to help me in every single thing I do.

The year 2011 was an awful year for me.  I moved back to my home country only to find out that my dad was already dead two nights before I got home.  My dear grandmother passed away a couple of months before my dad’s.  I was in Manila waiting for my flight back to Korea when she passed away but my family didn’t inform me lest I go home and stay for good. Ahhh, it was a difficult year.  Therefore, on the 31st of December that year I asked God to help me become a vegetarian.  I sincerely prayed for it and beginning that day I have been a lacto-ovo vegetarian.

 

To be continued again…

Leave a Reply

