Daily Prompt: All Grown Up

When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

Hahaha! Have I ever felt like a grown up? 🙂 Kidding.

Image

When I was eleven years old my mom enrolled me to a boarding school around 6 hours away from my house.  I was in first year high school then.  It was very far and a little bit scary for me to travel on my own.  I had to take a bus that leaves on midnight that will take me to Tacloban City then ride another bus to Abuyog for an hour and a motorcycle to the school.  I studied at East Visayan Adventist School.  I’d usually arrive around 4 or 5 in the city and I’d be staying at the bus station for another 3-4 hours or until Gaisano Mall opens and I could shop for school.  It wasn’t easy travelling on my own back then.  There were times, no, many times that I’d throw up in the bus from the zigzag roads or from the foul smell of cigarette smoke coming from other passengers.  It was terrible.  My white shirt became dark. My hair, oh my hair! I cannot even describe how my hair smelled and looked like after the trip.  Ahh…

In the campus, I had to do my laundry which includes towels, bed sheets, blankets, etc. I had to iron my clothes.  I had to manage my time and money wisely because my allowance comes only at the end of the month. So…

Studying at a boarding school at such an early age helped to become independent and responsible.  I am grateful that my mom sent me to EVAA.  

Leave a Reply

