Live Life to the Fullest

Writing. I am not a writer but I like writing. I can’t consider myself a writer because my way of writing is nothing but simple. I don’t use hifalutin words. If I were to rate my writing skills with 10 being the highest maybe I’d give myself a 5 (?). Seriously. I am not trying to put myself down. I am just mainly stating the truth. I’ve learned at school that after writing we should give ample time to edit. But I don’t do that. Once I’ve written something, that’s it. No more going back unless it’s something that will be graded or be read by people with speculative eyes. I know I should be diligent enough to edit my own writings but I am not just up to it yet. My brain moves so fast that even when I am writing, it will be thinking of the next thing to do. It could be do the laundry, wash the dishes, fold clothes, etc. It seems that I function well with a line-up of activities because without that “list” I’d end up spending hours in one activity like reading or cleaning endlessly.

So, why do I write when I know that I am not really good at it? Well, I’ll give you some reasons in bullet form:

* It’s one of the best ways to release stress.

* It’s my way of keeping a record of my life. ๐Ÿ™‚ (One day, when I’m old and gray, I can go back to what I’ve done in the past and laugh.^^)

* It’s nice to share thoughts with others. It’s like chatting to a friend / family member except that the paper or this page doesn’t react the way friends or family members do.

I don’t write stories. I barely write poems. It’s not that I’ve given up on them. It’s just that there hasn’t been a need to write those. One of these days, I might have to try my brain on writing scripts as this year the Lord has called me to be one of the Adventist Youth leaders in the church and I am already excited to start thinking of possible activities to do with the youth in the church.

After worship and a short meeting at the library today, I stayed a little longer to find some interesting books to read. It’s been a really long time since I’ve spent hours in a book. The last book I held in my hands aside from the Bible was “Chicken Soup for the Soul: True Love.” The book contains inspiring love stories that made me wish, hope, and pray harder for God’s THE ONE for me. However, it also got me to the point where I knew I had to stop reading or else I might be too focused on that kind of prayer and wishful thinking. I needed some time off from the said book so I can fully appreciate those true to life love stories. I think I spent almost two weeks reading it. Now, it’s shelved. ๐Ÿ™‚ Sorry.^^ Today, I am very pleased that I was able to borrow seven books from the library. Would you want to know what I got? ๐Ÿ™‚ Okay, no laughing or teasing please.

20130617-182052.jpg

1. Living God’s Love by Douglas Cooper

2. Hope Again by Charles R. Swindoll

3. The Great Date Wait by William L. Coleman

4. Love is an Everyday Thing and Start Loving by Colleen Townsend Evans

5. Release Your Stress by Susan Balfour

6. Chicken Soup for the Soul: Healthy Living Series–Stress by Leslie Godwin

7. Finding Your Strength in Difficult Times by David Viscott

 

They are all wonderful, inspirational books. I started reading a chapter of Living God’s Love this afternoon. I like the motto that is written in the cover of the book. It says,

“Make every day of your life a new, rich, and exciting experience.”

The first chapter talks about the imperative of loving well and the Christian’s primary task to bring the gospel, that is God’s great love, to this world full of sorrow, shame, and sin. It further says that

“we desperately need to have a love, given to us by Jesus, to share in this world that will meet and match the abounding wickedness
ย of the day. In this final hour we must help people experience this sort of love through us–in depth. We cannot, we must not fail in loving people–well.”

This book contains 15 chapters only and I am just going to take it one day at a time. Will that be okay?

After that book, I read two chapters of Hope Again. Evidently, I need hope or should I say I need to rekindle that hope inside my heart. ๐Ÿ™‚ The first chapter was called : Hope Beyond Failure: The Broken Man Behind the Book. Basically, the first chapter talked about one of Jesus’ Twelve Disciples who had so much passion for God and the ministry. He was described us courageous, committed, and had unswerving loyalty. However, his commitment was put on test. As Jesus predicted, he denied Him three times. Do you know who am I talkingabout here? Yes, that’s right, Peter. He was broken, ashamed, and humiliated. It must have hurt him so much seeing Jesus suffer and most of all die. But the story does not end there. On the morn of Jesus’ resurrection we find out that Jesus wanted all the people to know that He’s alive again and specifically mentioned that Peter be told about it. We can read the narrative in Mark 16:7 which says,

7 But go, tell his disciples and Peter, โ€˜He is going ahead of you into Galilee. There you will see him, just as he told you.โ€™โ€

Peter might have felt as though he has lost his hope of making it things right with Jesus but little did He know that Jesus already thought of him. What an amazing love!

The second chapter of the same book is called : Hope Beyond Suffering: How We Can Smile Through Suffering. Let me share a couple of sentences with you from this chapter.

“God has given us a purpose for our existence, a reason to go on, even though that existence includes tough times. Living through suffering, we become sanctified–in other words, set apart for the glory of God. We gain perspective. We grown deeper. We grow up!” (page 13)

“We can not only deal with suffering but rejoice through it. Though our pain and our disappointment and the details of our suffering may differ, there is an abundance of God’s grace and peace available to each one of us. ” (page 14)

“But those who are “born again” in the Lord Jesus Christ have been promised a living hope through His resurrection from the dead. So if you want to smile through your tears, if you want to rejoice through times of suffering, just keep reminding yourself that, as a Christian, what you’re going through isn’tย the end of the story…it’s simply the rough journey that leads to the right destination.”

“Hope is like an anchor. Our hope in Christ stabilizes us in the storms of life, but unlike an anchor, it does not hold us back.” (page 15)

What a blessed hope we have in Jesus!ย 1 Peter 1:3 says, “3 Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In his great mercy he has given us new birth intoย a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead…”

Well, this book has 17 chapters. Good thing, I started with 2 chapters already!^^

The third book for the day is: The Great Date Wait. Okay, no grinning. I know this book is especially written for teens to serve as a devotional book but I still feel like a teen inside so…:D I read many chapters from this book today. I just couldn’t stop reading. I actually thought I’d be spending the entire evening reading. Gladly, I was wrong. After reading the chapter: Enjoying a Full Life on pages 93 and 94, I got up and started writing. Yap, main reason why I am writing right now. ๐Ÿ˜€ I am not going to say anything much about it because I just took a picture of it so you can read it yourself. ๐Ÿ™‚ As to the author, William L. Coleman, to the rest of the fathers in the world, and to our Heavenly Father: HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!

 

May that blessed hope in God keep shining in our hearts as we enjoy a full life in sharing God’s love to people around us every day. It’s violin time!^^

PRAYER TODAY: Dear God, no more of this please. In Jesus name, I pray. Amen.

20130613-235116.jpg

ย 

One thought on “Live Life to the Fullest

Leave a Reply

