Daily Prompt: Bookworm

Tell us about the last book you read (Why did you choose it? Would you recommend it?). To go further, write a post based on its subject matter.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us WORDS.

Well, I was feeling all tired and lazy last night that I tried “reblogging” what I just posted a couple of hours before the prompt came at 7:00p.m. my time.  Anyway, I thought it’d be okay to just use the same thing since I actually talked about books that I borrowed and partly read yesterday.  However, as I go through the posts I just didn’t like how I missed one “Daily Prompt.” Yes, the “reblogged” post even after revising the title a bit didn’t show up as a DP so here I am trying to scan my brain for something to write about.

Let me talk about the book that I’ve been reading since the day I started reading, The Bible.

Image

When I was a little girl, I used to read from my grandfather’s immensely thick Roman Catholic Bible.  You know the one with pictures of the pope in the between the Old and New Testament? Yes, that one.  It was a King James Version where the first couple of words I memorized were “thou, thine, Thy, lo and behold, verily” and a lot more that ends in “st.” I actually memorized some verses from that Bible like the Psalm 23:1-6, Genesis 1:1, Matthew 5, 1 Corinthians 13, Ecclesiastes 3, etc.  Oh not to forget the very famous, John 3:16.  In other words, I spent some quality with that Bible. Then it was time for me to have my own Bible. I think my family gave me a New International Version where I enjoyed reading Psalms and Proverbs.  There was a time when I was in high school that my English teacher asked us to make a compilation of quotations.  It was about a hundred I think that she asked us to compile.  I went to the book called Nuggets of Wisdom and to Proverbs.  I can vividly recall how I underlined almost every verse in Proverbs.  There I met,

Proverbs 6:6

“Go to the ant, you sluggard; consider its ways and be wise!”

Proverbs 16:24

“Pleasant words [are as] an honeycomb, sweet to the soul, and health to the bones.”

Proverbs 27:19

“As water reflects the face, so one’s life reflects the heart.”

Proverbs 22:1

“A good name is rather to be chosen than great riches, and loving favour rather than silver and gold.”

Proverbs 20:1

“Wine is a mocker , strong drink is a brawler, and whoever is led astray by it is not wise.”

These are just but a few that comes to mind while writing here.  If you haven’t paid much attention to this awesome book, I urge you dear brethren to please go, say a little prayer, and start reading for this book is a wellspring of wisdom. 🙂

The Bible has been my constant companion and guide.  In whatsoever state I am, I always turn to God’s words and praise the Lord for He has never failed me! I can’t imagine life without it! I’ve carried my Bible in all my travels.  I have this particular Bible which was given to me as a graduation gift from a dear man who did nothing but help me in all ways he can.  It’s been with me since April 2005 and I’ve finished reading it cover to cover for three times already and yet I can’t still get enough of it.  I want more.  I am still hungry and thirsty for more of God’s words.  I know for certain that I will never fully understand everything written in this book.  I am in Isaiah now, that is Isaiah 52 to be exact, and it is so amazing to know that God’s words no matter how many times you’ve read them are still new and fresh as the morning dew.  There’s always something new, something nourishing even after you’ve read that particular passage for nth time already. Just amazing!

Well, the cover of my dear Bible is already torn.  Most of the pages have underlines, circles, or marked with pens, pencils, or colored pens.  Some have even little notes with dates and all.  Sooner, it will give up.  My friends have advised me to get a new one but I don’t know if I want to.  I have notes there already.  Hehe.  I’ve written on the front and back white pages too.  Maybe one day I will get a new one and that would hopefully be coming from…(*smiling sweetly*) As for the time being, I am just going to continue loving this precious book, studying it, and keeping it with me especially when I go to bed at night.

So, is this precious and holy book worth recommending? TOTALLY.  

If you already have a copy and is diligently studying it, good for you my friend.

If you already have a copy but got it shelved somewhere, please dust it off and start reading it.  

If you don’t have a copy yet, please go to your nearest bookstore and get your own copy.

However, if you like a digital version then just go online.  It’s available in computer and mobile formats. 🙂

This book is the best book that one can have! It adds more meaning in my life and helps me be a better person and child of God. 

2 Timothy 3:16-17

King James Version (KJV)

16 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

17 That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.

Leave a Reply

