Math & Me

I am feeling pensive today.  Haha.  It’s been a while since I really posted something here.  I mean something that I deeply thought about.  I haven’t really had the time to be introspective.  LOL.  I’ve been spending too much time reading journals and essays at work and Pride and Prejudice at home that I sort of stayed away from computer for some time.  Yes, I have Internet connection on the phone but typing there is not as fun as typing here on the computer.  Sigh.  See! Just the sound of the computer keyboard ‘squeaking’ and ‘screeching’ is so therapeutic. Hahaha.  My hands are heavy on the keyboard.  I just type and type notwithstanding the fact that if I keep pressing harder and harder then some of the keys might actually be broken (I have to think of a better term for that :D).  Yeah, that’s why one of my girlfriends doesn’t want me touching her computer—to which I actually understand.:-) Gladly, my Macbook is still alive.  It’s been with me since August 16, 2008 and nothing’s wrong with it except for the almost full memory. Hahaha. 

Anyway, what’s the point of this post?

I have no idea.

All I know is I want to type my thoughts here.  I am numb.  I am numb from exhaustion.  Haha. Is it possible to feel those at the same time? I don’t know.  But I am feeling numb.  I’ve been a busy bee since this quarter started and I cannot afford to look at the papers, touch them, and mark them.  I am done.  I am done for the week. Hahaha.  In a few hours it will be Sabbath again and praise God I can relax.  No papers this Sabbath! Yay! But I have a meeting to go to though. L I am not so excited, yeah? Well, I will be tomorrow when I get to church.  Even if my church and school belong to the same building the feeling of coming here on a Sabbath day is different from regular weekdays.  Why is that?  Same place, almost the same set of people, but different feelings? Eh? Well, vespers will be at my place tonight and I better hurry and go home to help prepare my sissy and friend for tonight’s event.  I’ve tried my best to tidy my flat everyday so the place is not a problem.  Food? They said that when you’re the host you just have to cook rice.  But do I settle for rice alone? Na-ah.  I like to prepare as much food as I can.  But considering that my sissy is here, that is taken cared of. J So, what do I do when I get home? Do the final touches. That’s right. Make sure that everything is set and that we have enough of everything.  I am so excited to go home now.  What about the papers on my desk? Chuck them inside a drawer or bring them home? I don’t like bringing work home.  Hmmm…I shall bring the exam papers and as for the rest.  They can wait. J There’s not much anyway. (Haha. Why does it feel like I am talking to myself in this post? LOL) 

I wonder how many Hahahas and LOLs and Hmmms this post have already. Tsk. Tsk. Tsk.

Enough with the long introduction already, Missy. Let’s go to the real deal. 

*****

Math & Me

 

I graduated with a 96% grade in math back in high school.  Is it safe for me to claim that I fare well in that subject? I got 96% there while 94% in English.  Now, why am I an English teacher and not a math teacher? I have no idea. But when I went to college I began to despise Math and it was only when I took Statistics in graduate school that I sort of liked it again.

This year I have the opportunity of tutoring a grade 5 student.  In the sign-up sheet I am supposed to help him with his English and science tests and homework. But for some reasons he brings Social Studies and math as well! Did I say math? Yes, I did. I thought grade 5 math was easy but honestly it’s not easy at all.  There are times that I had to google things to refresh my memory.  🙂 But studying with him has been delightful.  It feels as though he’s my son. Hahaha. Yap, I’m 29 and he’s 10 or 11 maybe.  If I got married when I was 18 and got pregnant a year after then I’d have a child about his age. Hahaha.  Kidding aside though, it’s actually fun doing homework with him and discovering things together, arriving at the correct answer, or scratching our heads together for not knowing what to do with those math problems.  I just hope and pray that when it’s my turn to assist my child with his homework that I’ll be smart enough to help him but if not I hope he’s dad can do it.  I don’t need a genius.  I just need someone who knows how to add, subtract, divide, multiply, and make sense of things like when a number is added to a letter and you’re asked to give the value of that letter. 🙂 Does he need to know how to spell? A bit maybe. ^_^ However, his relationship with God ranks first on the list. 🙂 It is so easy to get a tutor these days but leading family worships, passing on good moral values, keeping a happy home, etc. cannot be entrusted to other people.  These are important things that parents should focus on.

Happy Sabbath folks and God bless!

 

 

Leave a Reply

