Test Before Trust

Eagles Test Before Trust
“Whether in private life or in business, one should test commitment of people intended for partnership.” -Pastor Abel Vergara

Today was a Sabbath filled with surprises. About 12 faculty members of the Adventist University of the Philippines joined our Sabbath worship today from the Sabbath School to the AY Program. Whooaaa! It was so delightful seeing old colleagues! I can’t deny that seeing and talking to them today made me feel nostalgic. I miss AUP now. Anyway, Pastor Vergara, a dear classmate at the graduate school, talked about Stewardship this afternoon and basically used the characteristic traits of eagles as an illustration. He zeroed in his talk on Isaiah 40:31 “But those who wait for the Lord ‘s help find renewed strength; they rise up as if they had eagles’ wings, they run without growing weary, they walk without getting tired.” This was my late grandfather’s most favorite verse.:) Of all the characteristic traits that Pastor Abel mentioned I specifically like the one I typed above “Eagles Test Before Trust”. According to him, a female eagle would get a twig or something and drop it. Then the male eagle would fly quickly to get that twig and bring it back to the female eagle then she drops it again and he gets it again and the process continues for about ten times. If he succeeds then they date but if not, sorry dear.:) She does this test so she will know if he is strong enough to take care of their future children. Implication? Well, marriage is not a game. It’s very sacred and is a lifetime commitment. It’s not a joke and if you think about it the “forever” seems scary–forever responsible. Therefore it is but a must to enter this matrimony with prayers. How do we know that the person will stick with you through thick and thin for eternity? There’s no assurance that because he seems to be the type of person you have been waiting and praying for that he will stay like that forever and ever. It is only by the grace of God that a couple can withstand all the challenges. According to a children song, “When Jesus is in the family, happy, happy home…” Jesus is the most important INGREDIENT in successful relationships–any type of relationship for that matter. So, in relation to the eagle, can I be picky? With my age, is it okay if I test before I trust? When I was younger, I used to make guys go through a series of test before saying “yes” to them. I had to make sure that they were not toying my heart. But now that I am older my concerns changed. It’s not only about his passion for this and that but it’s more on his relationship with God, his desire to serve God and his fellowmen, his love for his family, friends, and in what he does. It’s not about the color of his skin or the number of zeros at the end of his paycheck. No, not at all. But it is also important that I am able to talk with him about anything under the sun without fear of being misunderstood, misinterpreted, or being judged. I think communication plays a vital role in relationships.

As for the other surprise at church, hmmmm, our church is going on another retreat on Feb. 14-16 next year. Am I excited? Of course! I get to travel and spend time with churchmates. But with the 14th? Next question, please…Lalalalala

God bless us all!:)

Leave a Reply

