Surviving Life’s Challenges

It is what we do or how we react to situations that defines us.

24220760764cc6d5870d685cefe6b20a god handlesTrials He will bring you through it

A lot of things happened to me lately.  Some were pretty daunting that my initial reaction to each of them was flight.  Yes, I’d rather pack my stuff and evade from all the misery and the consequences than deal with them.  However, I am learning.  I am learning that when terrible things happen in my life that I won’t just leave and escape but instead pray about it and weigh things down, see where I failed and make necessary changes.  Yes, it may sound pretty easy to do but it’s not as my pride and principle would normally get in the way which would also bring me back to step 1-pray.

Praying allows oneself to be calm while submitting all our cares to our Father.  After talking to Him about it, we feel better.  I feel better.  I am able to think things through, forgetting myself but focusing on God–His goodness, His mercy, and love.  It also directs my mind to Jesus’ life here on earth.  Despite of what people did to Him back then–the mockery, accuses, spits, crucifixion–He displayed nothing but kindness, love, and understanding.  He lived a simple life denying Himself of comfort, leisure, and convenience and helping out the sick, the brokenhearted, the lost…What a beautiful example of living He has showed us!

Weighing down things is also important when things don’t go your way.  Life happens.  That’s it.   So. Just. Deal. With. It.  I used to think that I am a pretty lax person.  However, after everything that happened this summer, I realized that I was wrong.  I am indeed a serious person.  I don’t think things lightly.  I take things seriously.  I take things seriously that I tend to internalize things and when I do, my gastritis comes back.  Bad, right? So, if I want to live long, I better start dealing with things properly and learn from them.  Life is not all glitters and shimmers.  It’s also about challenges, difficulties, realities, etc. that one must brace herself and face everything with a tough heart, open mind, and gentle spirit.  Learn. Learn. Learn. Take the higher ground and move on.

Changes.  There should be changes.  There should be positive changes in our lives.  God puts us through situations to refine our characters–characters fitted for heaven.  Things do not happen just because they have to happen. They happen so that we can be better people.  Some may be so disheartening and discouraging that we feel like we can’t survive it but just let God take control.  As Carrie Underwood sings, “Jesus take the wheel…” We should let Him take the wheel.  He loves us so much that He doesn’t want us to carry our burdens on our own.  He wants us to ask Him like how we ask our parents, our friends.  He wants us to come to Him and ask help from Him.  In 1 Corinthians 10:13, Paul gives us a good reminder, “But you can trust God. He will not let you be tempted more than you can bear. But when you are tempted, God will also give you a way to escape that temptation.” Very inspiring, isn’t it? 🙂

We are on a battle here–spiritual battle.  Satan and his minions are trying their very best to take us away from God.  However, the good news is God is stronger, way stronger.  Jesus has already won the victory for us.  So, when difficult things happen in our lives, just remember God is with us.  He will never abandon us.  We can do all things through Christ who gives us strength (Philippians 4: 13). 

Let us just smile and stay optimistic, okay? 🙂

I got to go but let me leave you this song from Carrie Underwood first, www.youtube.com/watch?v=lydBPm2KRaU.  God bless!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

