When Inspiration Strikes

According to my Creative Writing professor, Dr. Luz, back in graduate school, “When inspiration strikes, write.” Well, I’m not sure if that’s exactly what she said as in verbatim but that’s how I understood it and remember it.  So, please allow me to quote it that way, OK?

Inspiration to write comes to me around 8-ish to 9-ish.  I don’t know why.  I’m not sure if it has something to do with breakfast or coming to work with an empty stomach.  But my mind is always flooded with these brilliant ideas. LOL. I take that back. Not so brilliant actually just for the sake of wordplay, I would opt with that.

Well, last week, I started a new theme called Inspiration (#).  It’s to search for an inspiring image online to help brighten my day.  Diverting my mind into something beautiful helps me look at life (especially the circumstances I am in) with a different perspective.  It’s actually good, you know.  As the Bible says in Philippians 4:8 (one of my favorite verses),

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

We are to think of beautiful and positive things alone.  No doubts, anger, stress, hatred, jealousy should occupy our cerebrum.

images

Credits to: en.wikipedia.org 

There’s no point thinking about all those things because they’d just destroy our day.  Seriously.  It does not help us in anyway.  Besides, we only have one shot with these brain cells.  I mean, when they die, they’re gone forever.  What kind of person would I be if I indulge on those negative things and cause my brain cells to die? Terrible, right? So, I’ve made up my mind, only positive things please.  Ha! This logic actually reminds me of the quote, “You are what you eat.”

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

