The Want for Character

“In life, we don’t always get what we want.” These are the exact words that Aunty Nitz often tell Audrey, Ate Nesie and Kuya Wilmer’s a year and  a month old baby girl every time she cries for wanting to play with this or that.  I think these words are not only for Audrey but also for the rest of us.  Many times we find ourselves wanting things things we don’t need or things we obviously cannot have.  How sad, right? Instead of pining for this and that we should aim for something good that will not only benefit us but will benefit the people around us such as improving our character.

This year brought me pain and misery–tons of them.  There were countless occasions when I thought I couldn’t endure them any longer.  They were just too overwhelming.  However, God’s love is so great that every single time I am on the verge of giving up, I’d find myself kneeling before Him, asking for more strength to endure life’s trials and He’d always, always grant my request.  In all my dealings with God, I never asked Him to provide an easy way out rather I always ask Him for more strength.  I  cannot ask Him to get rid of the thorns because if He does then what will happen if more thorns come my way? I have to be tougher so I can successfully get through all these till Jesus comes.  But God is good.  He does not only give me more strength but He also provides me people to encourage me day by day.  I am more than grateful for these wonderful people who are always there for me.  They don’t judge me but they just listen to me.  They listen patiently, pray with me, and even hang out with me night and day.  They are such a blessing to me and I cannot stop but praise God for them endlessly.  I am no longer scared of whatever life may bring me because it has been proven and tested that God will never leave me alone.  Whenever I feel like crying it out, He sends me Audrey. Haha! Yes, that baby girl I am so attached to.  I hug her and she hugs me.  She hugs me so tightly and whenever she does it I can feel God hugging me, too.  It’s very comforting.  Whenever I feel like talking about my worries, He sends me my foster family here and a friend there.  I used to verbalize everything that happens in my life but since I have painfully learned one of life’s greatest lessons: “Not everyone that smiles at you is a friend” I have learned to carefully choose the people I pour my heart too.  Yes, I can easily talk to my own real family but they’re far and I don’t want to stress them out.  I need them to always know that I am okay even if sometimes I am not.  I am learning to conceal my feelings and just keep a poker face.  It’s best to just talk about your problems to people that care and you can fully trust.  They are God’s angels.  They are God’s instruments in letting us feel that He’s there, He’s always there.

So, every time life throws a hard punch on you, just relax.  God will never leave you alone.  I am surviving the punches and you will too. O K A Y?

1 Corinthians 10:13 ASV

There hath no temptation taken you but such as man can bear: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation make also the way of escape, that ye may be able to endure it.
I believe these are some things in life that we don’t have to worry wanting to have. 🙂 Some of my friends at church used this in one of their activities and I am glad I decided to keep a copy.
IMG_0023
 Would you like my dear, dear friend Audrey?
DSC_4995
Oh, isn’t she the cutest? I can hug her and play with her f o r e v e r! She might be very young but she already knows how to care and I love her for it!
(Gotta go. Will edit later. Hahaha)
Leave a Reply

